The perfect soft-boiled egg

I have posted Instagram stories of my soft boiled eggs approximately 18,000 times, so I decided, why not actually write it down and put it in a blog post? It’s so simple, it almost doesn’t even need a post — and that’s why I made it into a reel earlier today too! But without further ado: The perfect soft-boiled egg.

The Perfect Soft Boiled Egg

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 pieces of toast
  • Salted butter, softened
  • S&P

Directions

  1. In a small saucepan, bring about 1 inch of water to a boil; then lower the heat to medium-high so it’s at a heavy simmer.
  2. Carefully add eggs to the saucepan and add lid. Cook, covered for exactly 6 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, prepare an ice bath: Fill a bowl with water and add ice. Also, toast your bread.
  4. Once the 6 minutes is up, remove the eggs and plunge them into the ice bath. Leave them until the eggs are cool enough to handle (~1 minute). Carefully peel the eggs.
  5. To serve: Butter your toast. Split the soft-boiled egg on top of the toast. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Either cut with fork and knife, or just pick up and eat.

Far and away my favorite Saturday morning breakfast

I like to serve my soft boiled eggs with english breakfast tea and a side of fresh fruit (cantaloupe is my favorite, but peaches, plums, and bananas look great on the plate too). If you want a bit more decadence, add on a slice of bacon, or an english muffin half with butter and jam. Either way, you can’t go wrong.

Note on the eggs

I’ve tried this recipe both on large eggs and extra large eggs, and it turns out great. If you use medium eggs, your yolk might be a little bit jammier (which is also delicious!). In fact, if you prefer a jammier center for your large or extra large eggs, then just leave the eggs in for an extra 30 seconds and that’ll do the trick.

I make this recipe with eggs from my fridge. If you store eggs outside of the fridge, I suggest cutting off 20 seconds of time from the recipe, as they’ll cook more quickly.

Honestly, using this 6 minute method works every single time. Literally never once have I had an overcooked or undercooked egg. It’s foolproof. But make sure to set that timer, because even 30 seconds in either direction can have an impact on the egg yolks.

Happy breakfasting!

Leave a comment