The ultimate kale salad

Don’t click away, don’t click away! I know some of you are thinking, kale salad? get me out of here! But if you’re not really a kale fan, this salad will change your mind.

If I had a way to do some sort of money-back guarantee, I would. I have made this salad probably 3 times per week for the past 2 years and I’m still not sick of it. So give it at least one try, and see if this kale salad can’t convert you into a kale lover.

The side salad stigma

I know what you’re thinking… Ok, Emily, you already posted the best green salad , and now you’re going to post the ultimate kale salad? Get over green salads already!

I love side green salads. I know one or more of you just rolled your eyes from boredom at the thought of yet another side salad. But I’d venture to guess that the side salads that bore you are nothing like this salad. A picture comes to mind of a big bowl of dry salad leaves, served alongside bottles of cold salad dressing from the fridge.

Before you come for me, I have nothing against Kraft Ranch or Wishbone Italian (in fact, I love Wishbone Italian as a dressing for pasta salad!), but hear me out: why make your family members or dinner guests toss their own salad at the table, when you can take care of it for them? Food is meant to be enjoyed, and there is nothing enjoyable about struggling to do a mini salad toss — or worse, the fork stir — on your salad leaves to try to get your salad dressing disbursed among the greens. It’s just not very fun, nor does it even work that well. So step 1 to making better side salads is to dress them before serving – all you need is a big bowl and some clean fingers.

But hey, you didn’t come here to learn how to use your bottled salad dressings better. You came here to find out what makes my ultimate kale salad so good. If you’re reluctant to give up your bottled salad dressings, I challenge you to try out this salad. This salad takes only a fraction of the time longer than pulling salad dressings out of the fridge, but it’s so much better.

Oyster & Onion’s ultimate kale salad

This salad serves 2 people as a large side dish

Ingredients

  • 4 cups of washed and dried kale leaves – see this post for everything you need to know about buying, cleaning, and storing kale
  • 1/2 large, or 1 small garlic clove, minced or grated
  • 1 two-finger pinch of kosher salt
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1 t good extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Put clean kale leaves in a large bowl. Over the top of the kale leaves, sprinkle a pinch of salt. Add in the minced garlic. Squeeze the lemon half over the salad.
  2. Using clean fingers, massage the kale for about 20-30 seconds, making sure to disburse the salt and garlic evenly among the leaves. The act of massaging the kale will break down the tough fibers of the kale, so don’t worry about being gentle. As you massage, you’ll feel the kale get softer and you’ll see it wilt down in size.
  3. Once kale is to the desired texture, drizzle with the EVOO and mix again with hands until well-combined, then sprinkle with freshly ground black pepper to taste.
  4. Serve immediately or within the next half hour.

The best side dish to almost any meal

This side salad goes well with so many things. First of all, it’s a beatuiful deep green color and looks great piled up on any plate. But since it has the fresh flavors of lemon juice and garlic, it’s a refreshing salad that cuts through fatty meats and rich pastas quite nicely.

But this salad can also work as a main dish too! Just add desired toppings – maybe some chickpeas, nuts, feta cheese, and halved cherry tomatoes – and you’ll be full and satisfied all day.

Will you take the side salad challenge?

I dare you to take the side salad challenge: give your family members two side salads: one is this dressed and ready-to-eat ultimate kale salad, and one is an undressed bowl of leaves with store-bought dressings. See which one they prefer! I’m willing to bet you’ll have people requesting these kale salads!

3 thoughts on “The ultimate kale salad

    • Oh, I’m not a huge raw kale fan. I think you were the person who taught me about kale massaging, now that I think about it! My love of kale started when you started making that kale caesar salad years ago. Yummm.

      Like

Leave a comment